Story of Husky Owners

Marc

Thought I would do a reposting of this as so much has happened since we opened husky owners originally and so many people have joined that will not know how we started. Something that I found out earlier when someone asked me.

STORY OF HUSKY OWNERS

In late 2008 me and my wife Sarah decided that we would have a husky (more my wife than me lol) as an addition to our family home. Because of this Sarah started joining groups on the popular website facebook and spoken to quite a few other owners around the country. This then sparked off an idea.

I have been running websites, and more so forums for quite a few years and do so as a hobby. I have never particularly been fond of having pets, and Sarah has never been particularly fond of the time I spend on the internet at home. This came to a head one day in a serious arguement between us and so the day ended and we went to bed.

Sarah whilst sat there on facebook the day after then mentioned that it would be a good idea if we could get a few people together for walks with their huskies by using a SMALL FORUM. This is where both our interests hit each other head on and husky owners forum was born.

Husky owners forums was brought online on 28th of october 2008. Since then the site has changed its look to be a more professional looking website, new additions have been added (and removed, and added lol), and members have been joining on a daily bases. As someone with many years experience in website design I can say this place grew at an exceptional rate, surpassing all other sites in size in less than 12 months. Rather than the original idea of a small number of people in the our area Sarah could meet up with, we ended up with UK meetings, then a husky holiday, then 2 husky holidays, then gaining members from other countries. There are now camps and meets in other areas of the world and we have members from over 20 countries (and thats just looking at the member map).