So Why Do They Look Like Wolves?

Chula

I know that huskies are not any more wolf than a chihuahua, but how did they manage to maintain some of the most wolf-like physical characteristics?

Was just wondering this today. I'm no expert in the sciences, so I'm always interested in the thoughts of those smarter than I. 

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

could it be because they have been messed around with less.

most breeds have been changed to excel in other areas. Would it be safe to say that Huskys are similar looking due to what they are bred to do?!?!

I believe we haven't messed around with the breed too much that facial features etc etc haven't changed?

I'm not sure either...I watch the Dogs 101 on the Animal planet all the time and it is interesting how certain dogs were bred for different things, like rat terriers or retreivers.  Probably someone a long long time ago needed dogs to pull sleds and the weight and build of a wolf was more suited for the job.

But...what did they breed wolves with to make chihuahuas? Or did they just keep breeding smaller and smaller wolves with funny faces until they got a chihuahua. If every breed has a similar ancestor, how did dogs become so varied? Even people aren't as varied physically as dogs are.

Evolution is so interesting. I never gave a lot of thought to dog evolution because I was never a dog person, but now I'm fascinated by it.

Edited by Chula

Hmmmmn, that coyote looks very similar in facial features to the foxes we get over here in the uk. Wonder if they're related?

No idea why huskies have some more wolf type qualities than other breeds though, sorry.

No, they are not related. To put it in simple terms, foxes belong to the genus Vulpes, and Coyotes/Wolves/Dogs belong to the genus Canis. That means: coyotes, wolves, and dogs can all interbreed. But the fox can't because it isn't the same genus.