New

Hello I'm new to owning a Husky. I had a lab for many years. I just got Lady over the weekend. she is still getting use to everything I'm sure. I do have a couple questions though. When we got her she came from a shelter. They said they think there may have been some abuse. I really don't know she is 7 months old. she is great one minute and the next she is showing her teeth and trying to snap. The shelter said this should stop soon she is trying to get use to everything. there are so many sites out there you don't know who to listen to. I really love her she stole my heart when I saw her. but I don't know what to do about the showing of the teeth and snaping. that's the only concern at this moment. she is a lover one minute and the next she is growling. is there something more I should look for? someone has even brought up putting her on meds? I don't think she needs them but I have growled back at her. because someone else said that is showing the alpha stauts is this true? she was fine after that she loves playing and even handles kids ok. but like I said it's almost like Dr. jeckle and Mr. Hide Thank You in advance for your help and THANK YOU for this site it has already answered a lot of questions for me so thank you.

You dont wanna be growling at her, what your doing is challenging her.... what happens if she decides one tme to take you up on that challenge? Or children in you family see you doing it and then repeat it, Lady will know she is stronger than them and that she can win, so will be more inclined to take them up on it.

Rather than do that try diverting her attention, keep a toy she likes in your pocket and when she starts growling whip it out and initiate a play, once she is back to normal lots of praise and some treats.