Husky refusing all food, and rarely eating!

JB-Kira

My husky Kira (who's one and a bit months) also refuses to eat. We've tried changing the foods, food routine etc, but she refuses to eat. She liked fish (cat food style) mix with dry food but she has gone off that as well. This is my first time on the website and I'm hoping that I can learn what is stopping Kira from eating. Any advice?

EDIT: I took her to the vet yesterday and she had an obstruction, as well as shafts of plastic lodged in her tongue (how, I have no idea). Today we've kept her inside and given her a bowl of wet dog food with some antibiotics or something. She is eating better than before and I hope that it will continue to improve. Thanks for the really helpful advice.

Hi, is she well in herself? Husky’s can be fussy eaters but they won’t starve themselves, is she drinking ok? How long has she not eaten for?
One of mine was very ill not long ago and the only food he’d eat was cooked white fish, no bones, mixed with cooked sweet potato.
Some females don’t eat when they’re in heat, maybe that could have something to do with appetite loss. Hope you get it sorted.

Sent from my iPhone using Husky Owners

Have you tried her on cool scrambled egg?   a raw egg  just whipped up?   Sardines in (spring water) ?  These are my go-to  foods if Marley is having a couple of 'off days'.   I would also try some raw mince.    If she still wont eat I would get her checked out by your vet  -  it is not a good sign for a dog to go off all food  -  it could be something like an obstruction.     

On 24/02/2018 at 12:35 AM, chelseafan said:

That’s a thought, I took the age to mean maybe 14 or 15 months of age.

She's 14 months of age, sorry if I wasn't clear enough.

On 23/02/2018 at 7:47 PM, chelseafan said:

Hi, is she well in herself? Husky’s can be fussy eaters but they won’t starve themselves, is she drinking ok? How long has she not eaten for?