Prey Drive & Cat

NoVaRed

Posted an intro.  Basically we've had a husky for 3 weeks.  I grew up with many dogs - puppies through rescues.  So far our pup is low maintenance - but I'm still learning about this breed.  He's docile indoors, loves doggy day care and other dogs, but there are some issues.  My fiancee has a cat, but he has a strong prey drive - good lord he is fast.  He's killed a couple squirrels before we can blink and eyes our cat like it's a nice lunch.  We definitely keep them separated.  Is there any hope for coexistence?  He's two, and I don't want to ruin him with excessive training, if that exists.   He also has separation anxiety and can't be alone (we never leave him home alone for longer than an hour).  He loves other dogs and running off leash in fenced back yards/dog parks. Continuing to work on his anxiety but if that can't be helped, well I'll just keep paying for daycare.  Let me know if there's any hope for accepting the cat as anything other than prey, though. 

Trying to train prey drive out is not an option you and the cat need to just know to stay away from each other...we have a cat since Monday and the dogs have not seen it yet, heard and smelled it.. the 2 will never meet, cat in bedroom with a baby gate in the landing for it’s own protection...

sa now that you can cure... we use a command and treat when we leave and a “did you watch the house” and treat when we come back... started this from 30 seconds to 1 min and the. 5 mins intervals...it does take time and patience....

Sadly i would never trust a husky with a cat even those raised with a cat from a puppy are still a danger , they could be good for years then one day decide the cat is fair game, it's best to keep them seperate and make sure the cat has a high up safe place to get away to and like robke said baby gates to keep dog out (u can get taller dog gates that the dog can't jump)

Separation anxiety can be cured again like robke said building up the time away