Hi, new Husky owner here...

Lennon

Hi, I am Russ and our new Husky is called Lennon.

He is a rescue dog from Dogs Trust and was a stray in Belfast before joining Dogs Trust Merseyside and is about 2 1/2 years old..

We have had him for 2 weeks and what an amazing family dog. Playful, loving and affectionate, a real character. 

He is our first Husky (had Collies, Labs and Alsatians in the past)

Being a stray he does have a few issues, most notably mad on the lead, hates other dogs (probably had to compete with many in the past) and he mouths quite  lot, but gently.

Obviously we read up as much a we could about the breed before adopting.

We were advised to exercise him about 2 hours a day, which we do mostly on long walks, but as letting him off the lead is not an option, to get some cardio, we use a flirt pole with him in the garden.

Obviously i am no expert, but I do think he looks to be a bit under weight. I havnt had chance to get him on the scales yet, but hopefully will do later. 

You can feel his ribs, and i do feel he is very narrow in the abdomen. (see pic)

When we adopted him he had been having very loose stools which DT said was probably stress related. They had been feeding half a tin of Chappie with Wainwrights Salmon dry food, twice  day. 

His stools continued to be loose so we changed over to the foo we fed our Lab on, and his tummy seems to be improving slightly. We now feed a mix of Sainsburys tinned food and plain kibble mixer.

advice on weight and feeding would be really appreciated

Thanks in advance, Russ and Lennon

1599071961408_IMG_1597249755037.jpg

20200829_120629.jpg