Why does my dog pull on the leash??

Hi guys

Every time I log on to the forum there seems to be a new thread created by someone who is at the end of their tether because their dog pulls their arm out of its socket each time they take them for a walk. I am only a training novice myself, but I thought it would be handy to put all the tips we have to train our dogs to walk on a loose leash in one thread.

Why Do Dogs Pull on The Leash?

Dogs pull on the leash because we inadvertently teach them that's how to get where they want to go. Imagine for a second that you're a dog and your owner is taking you for a walk; there are all sorts of rewarding things for you to pull towards - other dogs, other people, other animals, loads of different smells and things to see and do. Every time we let our dog pull on the leash they are learning that pulling is what gets them closer to the things they find exciting and rewarding. Think about when you take your dog to the dog park, does he pull all the way there? Does he pull towards other dogs as you walk him over to greet them? Allowing your dog to pull in these situations is teaching your dog that pulling on the leash is the fastest way to the reward (i.e. the other dog). The more we let our dogs pull, the more the habit of pulling becomes ingrained and the harder it is to stop the behaviour.

I hear a lot of people say that our dogs are "bred to pull" so that training a Siberian to walk on a loose leash is therefore impossible. This is completely untrue - Siberians can be taught to walk on a loose leash, and many people successfully train their dogs to know the difference between a collar going on and walking nicely on the leash and the harness going on meaning it's time to work (pull). There is NO reason your Siberian can't be taught to walk on a loose leash!

So How Do I Teach My Dog to Walk on a Loose Leash?