How cool is this!

Wasn't sure where to post this but just wanted to share it with all of you. I am pretty chuffed with it!

I decided to train my youngest dog to do the scent discrimination exercise this week. This is an exercise required at the highest level of obedience competition (UD) - I don't know if we will ever compete at that level but it is fun to teach some of the more advanced exercises!

The basic premise of the exercise is that the dog learns to retrieve an object that has your scent on it. You have identical pieces of metal, wood and leather (they are number so you can tell them apart) and you lay all but one of each out on the ground with a pair of tongs. You hold one in your hand to scent it, then it is placed amongst the pile and the dog has to retrieve the one that has your scent on it.

I started training Daisy to do it this past week and she picked it up in a matter of days. I was really pleased so I thought I'd share this video with you all. Here she is with a full set of metal and wood pieces on the ground (I haven't trained leather yet). I alternate between placing a piece of scented metal and a piece of scented wood on the ground and asking her to retrieve it.

joVEZVF14-s

The best thing about this exercise is that ANYONE can train it, any dog is capable of doing it including Sibes! It's really fun to teach and is not as difficult as you may think. Anyone who is keen to give it a go, let me know and I will share the article that outlines the method I used.

wow - now that is impressive!

My boys wont even play fetch let alone anything else laugh.gif

(moved thread to training section)

Training Daisy to pick up objects was really hard! We started training the formal retrieve (using the standard wooden dumbell) and it took me a couple of days to get her to pick it up and hand it to me. But, once she realised that picking up the dumbell = getting a treat she worked it out really quickly and now she does a very enthusiastic formal retrieve.