Am I prepared?

infernalstone

As you can guess, since I'm here, I'm looking into getting a husky. My intentions are to look for a younger rescue dog, because from I've seen locally, there are a decent number of rescue huskies and they're pretty much all house trained (one less thing to teach!). There's a lot to take in, reading around on huskies, so I'm hoping some more experienced people can look over this and see what I might be missing or forgetting.

I'm a college graduate student, working under assistantship for atleast the next year. So, what this means is while I don't have a set schedule, and I live close enough to the school that if need be, I can make a trip home, there will be times that I may be away for most of the day. I'm not new to animals, having owned a dog (Retriever mix) who lived to be a happy 14 years old. She never have any health issues, aside from plumping up, which we found out was the neighbors feeding her their leftover biscuits and gravy every morning. On top of that, I also have had a few reptiles, all of whom lived to their general captivity age.

My intentions are for the husky to be and indoor/outdoor dog as my cousin's older dog (A mutt if we ever saw one) is. When I or my cousin is home (when he's intown, due to the nature of his work), she'll be inside. Most likely, when we're not here, she'll be outside on a runner. This is one area I'm not certain of. My cousins dog can be left outdoors with no intentions of escaping. He's too lazy and attached to home to do that. the problem is, all but two 6 foot sections of the fence is 6' privacy fence or 6' iron gating. One section is about 5', the other is the problem, where it's only about 4' tall. I'm worried that having her on a runner, while the other dog is free to roam (read: lazying on the porch or driveway) might create jealousy. I've also considered using invisible fence to barrier off the two problem spots.