bits chopped off v bits left on

yeap talkin about castration, anybody have any views on this, had my shih tzu done cause is was said havin a male dog done calms them down, didnt make a damm bit of difference lol, what do you think?????

Sometimes it does and sometimes it doesn't!

Sometimes it doesn't even take the sex drive away. Many years ago, our old crossbreed, Ben, who had been castrated for 5 years, mated and tied with an in-season bitch. We didn't think it was possible, so didn't separate them off. Obviously no puppies resulted as the old boy was firing blanks, but it was a worrying experience.

I think it depends on a variety of things - if you show your dogs, they are expected to be entire. If you race them, then (I have been told, although I have no direct experience) that entire dogs/bitches run better than neutered ones. Having said that the Chukchi neutered all their dogs except the very best. What I have noticed is that speyed bitches tend to put weight on very easily and their coats become thicker.....

Mick

i've been wondering this, Kimba's not been doctored yet but when Kaizer comes, will Kimba become more agressive? Can't see this to be honest, he's very submissive, if we come across another dog on a walk that jumps up to him he either sits down next to me or lies on the floor.

It's healthier for the dogs to get them done though i think, can reduce the risk of prostate caner?