Opinions Please On A New Product - Please Read

Niber

This may be a long one - apologies, but please read as I need opinions from you.

Firstly, it's been a while - been flat out.  Niber LOVING the snow - been pulling little 'uns on their sled.  He turns one tomorrow - big day.

Anyway, I am a builder and have been out of work for a while, so along with some other odd bits, I decided to start building furniture.  Carpentry has always been my favourite trade, so I thought I'd try out some joinery.  I haven't worked out how to post pics yet but have a look at my ebay item http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200882925619?var=&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649.  Also my other items, user name is 'ely_interiors'.

Wait... does this picture work?

post-8721-0-42290200-1358886507_thumb.jp

Having built a few items I had a thought.  I am lucky enough that when I moved into this house a year ago, there was a recess in the wall in the dining room - like a fake fireplace, which was just large enough to put Niber's bed.  It is out of the way, enclosed, and he treats it like a den.  Friends of mine have a Springer Spaniel and they have a bed in the kitchen, taking up floor space, and a bed in the lounge, taking a huge chunk of the floor space.  Also, I know a lot of people have crates and they also take up space and do not particularly look great in a lounge etc.

So here's my thought...  a bench, coffee table, dresser, TV stand, or any piece of furniture, which has a built in kennel / den for a dog.  So picture the bench in the link above, but instead of a gap under the seat, there would be a 'box'.  Leading into the box would be a hole, arched, big enough for a dog, and also a hinged, closeable door for the owner to remove and replace bedding etc.  That way your dog has a bed, like a crate, but it is hidden within a nice rustic piece of wooden furniture, so no need to put the crate away when visitors come etc.