What does a new owner have to know?

StepOnTheGas

I have a labxhusky which my family and I adopted a couple of months back. I have a lot of experience with Labradors, but Huskys' - total greenhorn! 

There are definitely some 'elements' of our boy that are unfamiliar territory to me! So, what would be your need-to-know info for a newbie like me? 

Can be silly, can be serious!

Unless you are 100% sure of how good their recall is don't let them off lead.

If people break into your house while you're away they will show them where all the good stuff is and jump in the back of the van.

Be prepared for fur. . . . so much fur. . . . everywhere, . . . . all the time.

If you don't get your shoulder dislocated the first time they see a squirrel, you're not a proper Husky owner.

Staring contests,. . . . they love staring contests.

You throw the ball for them, they amble over to it, pee on it then look at you to say "You threw it, YOU fetch it"

Unless your garden is built like fort Knox they WILL escape

Never leave a door open that leads to the outside world, Baby / pet gates blocking EVERY entrance.

Haha, ok, so

Recall - he has been let off once when I was having a brave day. We are now renting a secure enclosure for recall training.

Burglars - he actually hates the local drug dealers (yeah, I live in one of those places), and curses at them whenever they walk past. Maybe not husky there then

Fluff - we've invested in a good slicker brush

jesus Christ the pulling - no dislocated shoulders, but broken fingers, YES. He likes birds. Even ones that are 30 feet in the air.

staring - he does try to hypnotise me whenever he 'needs' a walk, which is apparently every 30 minutes. Buuuut, Labradors do this too!

fetch - oh, mine will fetch! But he wont let me have it. Chase me, chase me

He hasn't figured out an escape route yet!

Yep, we've invested in babygates!