19wk pup with explosive diarrhea

Nomarc

Hey guys,

Kai is having some serious GI issues that are due to food. I used to feed him TOTW - High Prairie, but the vet asked me to switch it due to concerns over new research suggesting that grain free foods (specifically, those with peas) are leading to dilated cardiomyopathy in dogs that are not prone to it. Now I'm feeding him Purina ProPlus Focus - Large Breed (Chicken and Rice). 

This has not been going well, and I need to find something better. I've considered going RAW. Unfortunately I can't afford it both financially and logistically. I'm a medical student, so time and money are at a premium. I would prefer to spend time exercising Kai.

So, I'm coming to you guys for help. What do you recommend that I give Kai? I read a lot of the food forums here, and I would like to not ignore the DCM concerns. So, if something is going to be grain free, I would like to avoid peas. Thoughts?

Also, since Kai is super cute... here he is!!!!

20190611_152747.jpg

Grain free foods are being found to be really bad for dogs.

One of the daycare clients just lost her 2 year old lab from a heart attack and the vet linked it to that. *can’t wait for this fad to be over*

My pups have serious GI issues and I spent so much money on Meds and trying different foods.

I have switched to a Holistic vet. Best choice every!

These are the things I had to do to end the nightmare; food allergy/intolerance test. Not 100% but will guide you. Started them on a cooked diet. My male has to have bi-weekly B12 shots. Put them on a very good probiotic and enzymes and a really good omega 3.

My vet has a nutritionist so everything is calculated with what they can and cannot eat.

It sounds like a major pain in the ass and sounds expensive but honestly,,,, it is so easy and I am spending less because it has cut the vet cost in half.

I wish I would have done it sooner.