Zinc Deficiency-ZRD?

DesertHusky

I know I’m a total newbie, but I found this forum about huskies as I was looking up zinc deficiency and ZRD. I think my little boy has zinc deficiency/ZRD. At one point he shed all his guard hairs and was just undercoat. So with the blessing of my vet, I started Zinpro. His guard hairs are growing back a little, so that’s a definite improvement. He also has the skin rashes that get all scabby on his nose only right now. My boy is a 60 lbs and I give him the recommended dose for his weight. While I’ve seen a big improvement since we started zinc, he still seems to get the rash on his nose and his guard hairs haven’t grown back completely. I was hoping there might be others in this community that might be able to offer us some support. Below is shot of my little boy’s nose. It was once completely scabbed, but the scabs don’t seem to completely go away, either. I guess I’m looking for some support, advice and any tips this community might recommend. Thank you so much!

As an aside, I spent an ungodly amount of money taking him to a vet and a dermatologist to make there there wasn’t something wrong. He came back with every workup as perfectly healthy. 

Again. Thank you for any tips and support.

16273ECC-1C89-44B1-BEB9-E88ED54E3914.jpeg

O I have seen this before!!! 🙂

If he is completely healthy... which it sounds like the docs have told you....

Bagbalm! Cake that on his nose as needed. It is safe for him to lick but, it will stay. 

I have used it on my horses, dogs, and other farm animals. 

* make sure it is clean. This is how I used it... washed with Dawn soup, rinse well ( I used a  syringe) then a little  bit of iodine ( sterilize ) then glob bagbalm on it.

It will not form a scab and takes a long time to heal. (Scabs are the drier form of skin and causes itching, liking, and  irritation that doesn't allow it to heal.