possible two huskys

Conall

Hi, I have been looking husky's for quite a few years now but my circumstances meant I have had to put it off for a while. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience raising two husky puppies together and their thoughts on this. of course the training and work will be double, but for the dogs themselves is having two together better for each other in terms of company when I am not in the house. I am a teacher and work from 9am to 3:30pm. The plan is to get them at the start of the summer when I am off and free the entire summer months so I will be around there all day for the earl months. Am I completely mad for thinking about getting two at the same time, because I would have got another one at another stage anyway. Any comments and tips would be greatly appreciated and please don't be afraid to be blunt. Thanks,

Conall

some people will call you insane...but it can be done what I would say however is with training that you do one on one as well as double training give them a bit of extra time with you... you must also take in account that after the school holidays they might not be able to spend all that time alone without going for a pee...

I did see some TV programme about 2 puppies being raised together and, whilst it didn't really impact on me (we'll never have puppies again as waaaaaay too much work - plus we work with a rescue), one thing that sank home, that seemed a good idea, was to make sure you had 1 on 1 with each dog. It extended to actually taking 1 out for the day without the sibling - the why was to ensure they didn't get too attached to each other but, more importantly, that they didn't live their life to the exclusion of the family (as they'd just entertain each other) and, potentially, resent the family