Trying to better myself as a husky owner! // Introduction

shihusky

The answer to all my childhood dreams is contained in the two mismatched eyes of my husky named Shiloh!

I got her around 10 months ago and it's been a wild ride so far. Unfortunately, while I longed for a husky for a number of years, I never did proper research on the breed. I, of course, was attracted to the striking beauty of the dogs and not much else. I often begged my parents to get me a husky and they always refused (luckily, because discovering the characteristics of the breed AFTER getting one would have been a nightmare under my parents' roof). But when I graduated from high school and moved in with my sister to go to college, I saw an opportunity. I went to....Craigslist (*cringe*). It didn't take me too long to find a post with pictures of 2 adorable husky puppies and, before long, I'd bought one from what I realize now was a backyard breeder. 

Long story short - I was completely blindsided when I got my Shiloh. The couple I bought her from sold her to me too young, as I didn't know what age was best for a husky to be taken from her parents. I knew she would shed but I didn't know how much it would be. I was unaware of the HUGE amount of energy huskies can have and how much exercise they need. I didn't know that I should have been socializing her with a lot of new people and other animals, or that I should have had a reasonably firm hand with training her... Basically, I knew nothing and I definitely got my wish for a husky too soon.