Puppy Hungry All The Time?

Have had my husky for two weeks now.  I feed him in the morning, lunchtime and in the evening.  I have finally gotten the portion correct for his tummy, no more diarrhea, however he is acting like he is starving all the time, not new he was like that when he came home with us.  If you try to take his bowl away from him, he wolfs down the food as fast as he can, a form of food guarding I assume. 

I am new to this behavior as my other husky is a very picky eater, you have to coax him to eat !  Never had a food guarding issue either, treats yes with other dogs, but food no. 

Puppy was fed at the breeder from one bucket shared by mom and 7 siblings, so I understand the food guarding and will work on that, but if he acts hungry is he hungry? or is this part of the guarding issue?  I feed him 1/2 cup ( 237 Grams) of puppy dry food, quality brand, with about two tablespoons of rice mixed in at each feeding, total of 1 1/2 cups per day, he weighs 16 pounds , gained about 6 pounds in two weeks.

I don't want to under feed him, but need to know if you have any idea if this a hunger issue or a behavior issue?

Thanks !

It sounds about right, I fed Ronin around 2 cups per day which is a bit more than average. He is always hungry too, and am sure he would eat a bucket load given half a chance. Ronin also goes nuts just before meal time, you would think he was never fed  :D He will do aerial 360s and gets very vocal.

You can try feeding all or half of his meals in a treat ball, as this makes him work for his food, makes it last longer and is better for digestion. A slow feeder bowl will also slow down consumption which is also a good thing. 

I am not sure if what you are describing is guarding, but you can work on this anyway. Maybe hand feeding some food, or sitting near him and adding a few kibble to the bowl at a time. Try taking the bowl empty at first, adding a few and then give it back, take again and repeat.