Rash Around Mouth

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Okay now that you ask I realize I forgot what the "R" stands for LOL but it's Zinc something Deficiency. Very common in huskies. Usually the symptoms are red bald spots around the face. I have no hands-on experience dealing with ZRD but lots of our members have. I believe they'd come running any minute now..

Just had a look online, not sure if it is zrd as they say they get very itchy around the area, troy hasnt been itchy or that apart from licking pawd and nibbling sides now and again!

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

aha! that might be it. Excessive licking causes hair loss.

... wait I'm stupid how can he lick his own cheek  :mellow:

random guessing now: has there been any change in his environment recently? has he been behaving normally or does he look overly lazy? stress causes hair loss too. 

LOL only change was about five month ago when i moved house from my paretns to my own place, he is still full off energy, he had his diet changed 2 weeks ago but that was after i noticed they marks as i took him to vets for itching and weightloss they said it was jusr down to be allergic to one off the meats in his old kibble so i now have a prescription diet kibble

Ice gets the odd patch like that under his mouth.  Sudocream helps heal him up (it contains zinc), I'm guessing it's zinc responsive dermatitis because it sure looks like it from the pics you've shown.  Ice's doesnt' itch either.  Starts off red and then pales until it goes away and he's fine for a few more months until another one appears.   

Ice gets the odd patch like that under his mouth. Sudocream helps heal him up (it contains zinc), I'm guessing it's zinc responsive dermatitis because it sure looks like it from the pics you've shown. Ice's doesnt' itch either. Starts off red and then pales until it goes away and he's fine for a few more months until another one appears.