Crate Training/separation Anxiety

Alright, I am a brand new husky owner and I am new to the breed. I did my research before adopting my dog, Max, but he is definitely still a challenge. I live in the basement of a house that has been converted into an apartment. I have my own fenced yard and access to the landlord's larger fenced yard as well where Max can play with her dog (we introduced them today and they seemed to get along well). I just adopted him on Sunday. He is just over 1 year old and is the BEST dog I have ever had. He doesn't jump up on people, doesn't bark (unless he is really riled up while playing), learns quickly, and doesn't pull too much on his leash (though we are working on improving that still). My problem is this: he is having a very hard time in his crate. At his foster home he was also crated, but his foster family had 2 other dogs so he wasn't really alone. He did fine in his crate. During the day I have to crate him for up to 4-4.5 hours while I am working.